|Stone House Mount Ephraim Tunbridge Wells|
Books and other documents
|Published||Title, author and references|
|1840||New Guide for Tunbridge Wells by John Colbran and edited by James Phippen ⇒ p. 80|
|1833||History||Stone House||Colbran's Tunbridge Wells|
the following lines were written in 1833, for "The Visitor" - the first periodical published at the Wells. They were written by the late Mr. Thomas Fry. At that time the claimants were Messrs. Stone and Pegg.
|1839||Tunbridge Wells||Stone House||Colbran's Tunbridge Wells|
|1840||History||Stone House||Colbran's Tunbridge Wells|
The old Stone House, now nearly in ruins, owing, we believe, to some misunderstanding between the claimants to it, was a most substantially built mansion. The side and front walls of the drawing and dining rooms are solid stone, panelled and moulded; and there was also some ancient tapestry here. There are no records of the date when it was built, nor of the builder. It was long used for a lodging-house, and for several seasons it was occupied by Sir Philip Francis, so well known in the literary world.
The Weald is at Database version 12.3 which has ongoing updates to the 379,102 people; 9,000 places; 613 maps; 3,308 pictures, engravings and photographs; and 242 books loaded in the previous version